

THE INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF CHINESE PATHOLOGISTS FALL NEWSLETTER 2013

國際華人病理學會

www.iacp.us

September 19, 2013

Dear IACP members,

I hope you all have enjoyed the summer so far and had a nice mid-autumn festival!

On behalf of our society, I'd like to express our appreciation to Dr. Tsung-Teh Wu, who served as President of IACP in the academic year 2012-2013 and has done a tremendously wonderful job in leading the society's academic activities and social functions during this period, including our annual dinner gathering, reception, and Best Abstract Award selection and ceremony at USCAP.

Our annual dinner gathering was held at the famous Brazilian churrascaria steakhouse, Fogo de Chao in Baltimore on the evening of Sunday, March 3, 2013. Many sustained and newly joined members, as well as their guests attended the dinner and had enjoyed a wonderful moment in catching up and networking.

On the following night, the IACP annual reception took place at the Hilton Baltimore Hotel. Although the reception was held late at 9 pm due to other educational and academic activities, there was a great attendance. During the reception, one of our past presidents, Dr. Edgar Huang nicely illustrated the history of IACP. Other sustained members, including several past Presidents, Dr. Wun-Ju Shieh, Dr. Yao-Tseng Chen, and Dr. Tzyy-Choou (TC) Wu, etc, also echoed him in memorizing the birth, growth and legacy of IACP. The annual IACP Best Abstract Award ceremony was also held at the reception. This year we received over 20 abstracts from young pathologists-in-training for the competitive Best Abstract Award. The Abstract Review Committee was chaired by Dr. Yunn-Yi Chen (University of California, San Francisco) and the committee members included Drs. Yao-Tseng Chen (Cornell University), Tsung-Teh Wu (Mayo Clinic), Kar-Ming Fung (University of Oklahoma) and Matthew Yeh (University of Washington). We would like to express our gratitude to the committee for their hard work. The two recipients for Best Abstract Award are Dr. Jui Lan and Dr. Hongying Huang. Congratulations to their excellent work! A monetary award and plaque were awarded at the ceremony. Their affiliations and the titles of their abstracts are:

Dr. Jui Lan (Kaohsiung Chang Gung Memorial Hospital, Kaohsiung, Taiwan): Periostin overexpression as a poor prognostic factor in patients with nasopharyngeal carcinoma.

Dr. Hongying Huang (Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York, US): Mutations of 3p21 Epigenetic Regulators in Clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma: Sequencing and Clinicopathologic Analysis of 188 Cases.

On behalf of IACP, I'd like to take the opportunity to thank Taiwan Society of Pathology (TSP) and its President, Dr. Shih-Ming Jung, who generously donated US\$5,000 to IACP for education purpose. The donation will be used for the funding of the IACP Best Abstract Award. This is a very meaningful cause, which also strengthen the interaction between IACP and TSP. We cannot express our gratitude more to Dr. Jung and Taiwan Society of Pathology.

As the deadline of abstract submission for the United States & Canadian Academy of Pathology (USCAP) is approaching, I'd like to encourage our members-in-training as well as our members to remind their trainees to submit their work to USCAP. The abstracts accepted for presentation will be eligible for the Best Abstract Award of IACP.

The annual IACP dinner gathering is scheduled to be in San Diego, California on March 2, Sunday, 2014, where USCAP takes place. Please mark your calendar and we would also like to hear your input regarding the restaurant near the USCAP venue.

Last but not the least, we are indebted to the immediate past Executive Committee (EC), who completed their terms on June 30, 2013, especially Dr. Tsung-Teh Wu, the immediate past President. The succeeding officers move to the notch above to take alternative responsibilities. Dr. Kar-Ming Fung continues to be our Executive Vice President and webmaster, and we are truly thankful to his persistent devotion and outstanding contribution to IACP.

Thank you all for your continuous support to IACP. It is because you that IACP grow and thrive.

I wish you all have a wonderful time for the rest of the summer and autumn.

Your servant,

Matthew M. Yeh, MD, PhD
Professor of Pathology
Adjunct Professor of Medicine
Director, Gastrointestinal and Hepatic Pathology Program
University of Washington School of Medicine
Seattle

IACP Officers 2013-2014

President. Matthew M. Yeh, MD, PhD (myeh@uw.edu)

President-Elect: Yunn-Yi Chen, MD, PhD (Yunn-Yi.Chen@ucsf.edu)

Secretary: Lizhi Zhang, MD (zhang.lizhi@mayo.edu)

Treasurer: Howard Her-Juing Wu, MD (hhwu@indiana.edu)

Treasurer-Elect: Yan Peng, MD, PhD (yan.peng@utsouthwestern.edu)

Executive Vice President: Kar-Ming Fung MD, PhD (karmingfung@ ouhsc.edu) **Immediate ex-president**: Tsung-Teh Wu, MD, PhD (wu.tsungteh@mayo.edu)